Morpeth has a rich heritage and was instrumental in the development of the Hunter Valley. Morpeth is National Trust - classified and is a living museum with beautifully preserved buildings.
Known also by its Aboriginal name 'Illalung', Morpeth formed one third of a land grant made to Lieutenant Edward Charles Close by Governor Brisbane in 1821. Influenced by its desirable location on the Hunter River and the realisation of the area's immense potential, Morpeth evolved into a frontier town and busy river port.
Morpeth's role as one of the most important river ports in New South Wales began in the 1820s and under the instruction of the Colonial Secretary, 1833 saw the development of the public wharf for Morpeth. Queens Wharf as it was named was to become a heavily frequented river port by settlers, merchants, mariners, timber getters and farmers. During its time as a major industrial and agricultural hub, Morpeth helped to lay the foundation for the development of the entire Hunter Valley. Whilst no longer famous for its primary industry, the Morpeth of today continues to thrive with many visitors exploring the township each year.
Morpeth Bridge is a Heritage listed landmark. It is highly valued by the local community serving as a 'gateway' for road travellers into the town of Morpeth and is important to the history of Morpeth and the expansion of New South Wales' road network in the late 19th Century. Along with it's functional purpose Morpeth Bridge is also aesthetically significant and is the oldest surviving example of an overhead braced Allan truss road bridge in service.
Local campaigning for a bridge began as early as 1870, but was not successful until tenders were called in the Government Gazette, 17 August 1896 for 8200 pounds. Work on the bridge began in November 1896 and the bridge was constructed over three years, officially opening on 15 June, 1898 by Minister for Works Mr J.H. Young and christened by Mayoress Mrs R Sim. Percy Allan designed the bridge and Samuel McGill built the bridge for 8855 pounds.
It is an Allan type overhead braced timber truss road bridge. It has three main truss spans, each 33.6m (110ft) long, and 16 timber girder approach spans on the northern side, each 10.7m (35ft) long. The overhead bracing places a height restriction on vehicles using the bridge of 4.5m. The two inner supports of the truss spans are pairs of iron cylinders filled with concrete. Timber trestles support the approach spans. There are two traffic lanes on the bridge with a minimum carriageway width of 5.5m.
Morpeth Bridge is one of 15 historic bridges constructed before 1905 in the Hunter region today. It is one of three surviving overhead braced timber truss road bridges in NSW.
Information supplied by Transport Road and Maritime Services, Heritage and Conservation Register, 2011
Morpeth Court House
Morpeth Court House was built on land donated by Lieutenant E C Close and was designed by architect Mortimer Lewis Junior, the Government's Clerk of Works in the Hunter Region. It was completed in October 1862, housing the local Court of Petty Sessions. The Court Room still displays the coat of arms above the original judge's canopy and is the only non-working Court House to do so.
Since closing as a Court House, the building has been constantly used for a variety of purposes including Baby Health Centre, Library, Red Cross Recruitment office and currently Morpeth Museum. The Museum occupies the whole building with the main Court Room and parts of the east and west wings available for inspection.
Explore the Heritage
During your visit to Morpeth take some time to explore the range of heritage sites and buildings or wander the Morpeth Heritage Walk at your leisure.